Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Vegan MoFo begins

I’ve been thinking about what to write about for this month of vegan food. I’m never going to be a food blogger, but at the same time, the point of all this advocacy that we do is, to some extent, vegan food.

There have always been these odd myths about vegans, like we eat bark off the trees and twigs from the ground. And that we eat “rabbit food”. This, combined with a natural obsession with tasty food, seems to be what drives most vegan food bloggers. And I certainly appreciate their efforts, as about half of my meals come from food blogs rather than cookbooks. (Though I do have a cookbook obsession, admittedly.)

The truth is that I do sometimes eat rabbit food, and I like it quite a bit. Especially with hummus, though I have been known to gnaw on a plain ole raw carrot myself, once in a while.

Eating rabbit food isn’t bad at all. In fact, I highly recommend it!

the unbearable cuteness of being (allison)

the unbearable cuteness of being (allison)

8 responses to “Vegan MoFo begins

  1. bex October 1, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    I need to cuddle that bunny!

  2. Pingback: Post Punk Kitchen Blog: Show Us Your Mitts! » Blog Archive » VeganMoFo Round Up For Thursday 10/02

  3. Deb October 2, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    Thanks Elaine and bex! She’s definitely a cutie, and watching her nibble on that carrot was extra cute! :)

  4. Zoey October 3, 2008 at 12:48 am

    Your bunny is adorable!

  5. Deb October 3, 2008 at 4:25 am

    Thanks Zoey! She’s actually one of the bunnies at Poplar Spring Animal Sanctuary – I volunteer every weekend there, so I have lots of opportunities for cute animals pics! :)

  6. laura! October 3, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    I LOVE THAT BUNNY SO MUCH!

    Also, this post is totally awesome and inspiring! You rule! I volunteer with Rocket Dog Rescue in SF and we often have rescue bunnies and they are the coolest best! Also, my boyfriend has a bunny and I have a pit bull. The intros are slow but steady but I don’t want Hazel (my dog) to have Nibbler (his bunny) stew for dinner. Le sigh.

  7. Deb October 4, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    hey laura!

    Bunnies do seem to have an extra dose of cuteness! That’s cool that the rescue you’re involved with rescues bunnies. Hopefully the intros between Hazel and Nibbler go well. I’ve heard lots of good success stories, but I think a lot of it comes down to personalities. You probably know better than I, in any case! Good luck with it! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 618 other followers

